top of page

Christmas Calendar Colouring II.

We are almost done colouring the whole Christmas Calendar!



Seeing all the beautiful colourings on the Christmas Calendar, made me so happy that I decided to make another selection and let you be amazed by them. :) You can find all the colourings on Instagram under the hashtag #agotapopchristmascolouring


Some of the colourists are determined and consistent with their 24-day challenge. I am so pleased to see that. Congrats for them! And as a gift for their efforts, I have created the second Giveaway. If you complete colouring the whole page you are welcome to participate. I will select five winners. The prize is one colouring page of their choice from my Etsy shop. (find the details on my Instagram in the description of the Giveaway 2. post.)


And here they are! I challenge you to observe each image, analyze them a little and find something you like and maybe could apply next time you colour. Here is what I noticed:

- @gracicolor I like the vibrant and contrasting colours

- @pdmariusso: always surprising backgrounds. So inspiring! Also, notice that although the colouring itself is not that sophisticated the highlights placed so carefully turn them into something outstanding.

- @lblancovega is playing a lot with reflections creating beautiful shiny textures, I could say as using a few brush strokes because they look like paintings.

As you can observe highlights can throw the visual quality of a colouring sky-high, but the shading is equally significant, helping you to give the objects that tridimensional feel.

- observe @tonjacolors and @t.annetty 's beautiful and delicate shadings.


The background is also important, it can make or break your whole efforts colouring the objects.

- @maria_dragondepapel has used a limited colour palette, a simple colouring style and those creative backgrounds, altogether creating those nice, cosy little pictures.

If you are a beginner you don't even have to be that sophisticated, your colourings can turn out nice even without a background but keep in mind to distribute colours harmoniously. Choosing a limited colouring palette can be helpful.

- @abcoloring1 's pictures are a good example of nicely using the colours.

- @world_of_colors08 I like how those stars pop out from that jar, notice how she managed to create this effect using highlights and shadows, also I think the colours are nice, harmoniously used.

- @sutherland_cd is using glittery pens and the results are unique.

- @zestedecouleurs is telling her winter story in delicate colour combinations. As far as I know, she is using watercolour pencils.

Experimenting with different art mediums is always a good idea. So I encourage you to be creative and continuously improve by observing, learning, experimenting and applying the new ideas.


And here are my colourings. No comment on these... because I already wrote too much. Though I never intend to, I always write too much. :))

@agotapop


This year's Christmas probably will be different for most of us, more peaceful and quiet as usual so, we may have more time to colour. If you would like you can still colour the Christmas Calendar. Find the free colouring page here. If you are posting your colourings on Instagram please use the tag @agotapop and the hashtag #agotapopchristmascolouring so I can find your colourings easier.


Happy colouring and happy Holidays! :)


PS. The winner of the first Giveaway is @t.annetty Congratulations and happy colouring! :)


Follow me on Instagram @agotapopillutration for illustrations in ink or @agotapop for colour lovers.


Hi, thanks for

stopping by!

I hope that you will find,  in some ways, useful the ideas I am sharing here.

Let me know what you think.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook
bottom of page